JavaScript seems to be disabled in your browser.

You must have JavaScript enabled in your browser to utilize the functionality of this website. Click here for instructions on enabling javascript in your browser.

Need help? Place a manual order here!

String Quartet No. 3 (Cortege) Datasheet

Score and Parts

This string quartet is a reflection on emperors and kings, their works, their passions, and the inevitable passge of time. Specifically, it follows the career of Artashes who ruled Armenia about twenty-two hundred years ago (190-160 BC), founded the Armenian capital, Artashat, and abducted his beautiful bride Satenik. The composer was struck by a 19th century painting of Artashes' funeral with its grand and seemingly endless cortege, the wailing throng lining the road, the deceased king borne in state on a royal carriage, all led by regal horsemen and a colorful phalanx of musicians. The music is divided into five short scenes played without pause: I. Cortege, II. Theft, III. Build, IV. Cortege, V. Farewell. Commissioned by the Dilijan Chamber Music Seriesfor the Lark Musical Society. Duration: c. 14 minutes



Out of stock

More stock available to back order. Please add 4-6 weeks to delivery times.